The FIA Formula 2 Championship is the final step on the ladder to the pinnacle of motorsport, Formula 1. DAMS has been competing in the category since its inception in 2017, as well as its two predecessors GP2 Series and International Formula 3000, and enters the 2020 season as defending teams’ champions.

Half of the drivers on the current F1 grid contested the feeder championship or GP2, of which six raced for DAMS: Romain Grosjean, Pierre Gasly, Alexander Albon and Nicholas Latifi. Kevin Magnussen and Carlos Sainz also raced for DAMS in Formula Renault 3.5.

Each race on the 12-round calendar supports the Formula 1 weekend, with a 60-minute Feature Race and a 45-minute Sprint Race.

As a spec series, everyone uses the same Dallara chassis, Mecachrome engine and Pirelli tyres. It is therefore up to the individual teams to set the car up and execute a good race strategy, and the young drivers to show their talent.















Media Coverage

The 2018 season was watched by 21.1 million people in over 160 territories, with coverage on Sky Sports, FOX Sports, ESPN and Canal+.

In 2019, the series was streamed for the first time on F1TV.

Formula 2 has a strong social media following with a combined audience of 565,000 followers across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Race Format

Drivers only get one 45-minute practice session on Friday morning before qualifying, which means you have to hit the ground running. The drivers which goes on to claim pole position receives four championship points.

Saturday’s Feature Race is 170 km (or approximately 60 minutes) long and includes one mandatory pit stop for a tyre change with the top 10 drivers scoring points towards the championship.

The top eight finishers start Sunday’s shorter 120 km (or approximately 45 minutes) Sprint Race in reverse order, with the eight highest finishers scoring points. Two points for setting the fastest lap are on offer in both races.