Class details


Formula E is an all-electric single-seater championship that was first run in 2014. It represents a vision for the motor industry’s future over the coming decades, serving as a framework for research and development around the electric car, promoting sustainability and innovation.

Taking place at some of the most beautiful cities from around the world, such as Hong Kong, Paris, Rome and New York, near cultural and historical landmarks, Formula E allows more accessibility to the public than other conventional series.

11 teams and 22 drivers make up the grid, with the new Gen2 cars and unique regulations making for an exciting atmosphere designed to attract younger and new motorsport fans.

Operating as an ‘open championship’, the series gives car manufacturers and constructors the opportunity to showcase their electrical energy innovations in a racing environment, designing cars to the technical specifications set out by the FIA. The series centres around three core values: Energy, Environment and Entertainment, and combines engineering, technology, sport, science, design, music and entertainment – all driving the change towards an electric future.

Event schedule

One-day event:

  • Free practice: A first session of 45 minutes and a second of 30 minutes.
  • Qualifying: Divided into four groups determined by championship order (drivers’). Once all drivers have had a chance to complete a quick lap, the top six move through to the Super Pole. Each driver has one lap to try and position themselves as high up the order as possible.
  • Race: The maximum length of the race is 45 minutes + 1 lap. A change of car is  no longer required with the Gen2 single-seaters. As of 2018/19, five drivers will benefit from the FanBoost (voted for by fans online), giving an extra burst of power. Drivers must also use “Attack Mode” during the race, by going through off-line activation zones that give an extra 25kW of energy for a period of time (determined by the FIA prior to each event).

Point allocation

  • Pole position: 3 points
  • Race: 25-18-15-12-10-8-6-4-2-1 points (Top 10)
  • Fastest lap: 1 point (the driver must be classified inside the top 10).