The FIA Formula 2 Championship is the final step on the ladder to the pinnacle of motorsport, Formula 1. DAMS has been competing in the category since its inception in 2017, as well as its two predecessors GP2 Series and International Formula 3000.

Half of the drivers on the current F1 grid contested the feeder championship or GP2, of which two raced for DAMS: Pierre Gasly and Nicholas Latifi. Carlos Sainz also raced for DAMS in Formula Renault 3.5.

Each race on the eight-round calendar supports the Formula 1 weekend, with two 45-minute Sprint Races and a 60-minute Feature Race in a new format for the 2021 season.

As a spec series, everyone uses the same Dallara chassis, Mecachrome engine and Pirelli tyres. It is therefore up to the individual teams to set the car up and execute a good race strategy, and the young drivers to show their talent.













DAMS celebrates winning the 2019 F2 teams' title

Media Coverage

F2 is watched by over 32 million people in over 160 territories, with coverage on Sky Sports, FOX Sports, ESPN and Canal+ and Formula 1’s dedicated streaming service F1TV.

The series has a strong social media following with a combined audience of over 1 million followers across Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Race Format

Drivers only get one 45-minute practice session on Friday morning before qualifying, which means you have to hit the ground running. The drivers which goes on to claim pole position receives four championship points.

New rules for 2021 sees a shake-up in the format, with two 45-minute Sprint Races (approximately 120 kilometres) taking place on Saturday. The grid for the first race will be set by reversing the top 10 from qualifying, with race two’s grid being the top 10 from the first race reversed. The top eight score points in each race.

Sunday’s Feature Race grid is set by the order from qualifying. The 60-minute race (approximately 170km) includes a mandatory pit stop for a tyre change with the top 10 scoring points. Bonus points are also available for setting the fastest lap in each race.